Click to Home
Site Tools
Valdez Alaska

Go To Search
City Council

The City Council 

The elective officers of the city shall consist of the Mayor and six Council Members.

The Mayor and each Council Member shall be elected from the city at large. The term of office for each Council Member and Mayor shall be two years and shall commence on the next regular Council meeting following the election. Beginning in 2017, three-year terms will be phased in for both the Mayor and Council Members.

The Council shall exercise all of the legislative and policy-making powers of the city and shall provide for the performance of all duties and obligations imposed upon the city by law.

(Charter of the City of Valdez, Chapter 3 & Valdez Municipal Code, Chapter 2.06)

Current City Council Members

(Click Name to View Each Council Member's Photograph and Biography)

Term on Council

Current Term Expiration
Mayor Jeremy O'Neil
1st  May, 2021
Mayor Pro Tempore Dennis Fleming
3rd   May, 2021
Council Member Ron Ruff
1st  May, 2021
Council Member Christopher Moulton
4th May, 2020
Council Member Darren Reese
1st May, 2020
Council Member Jim Shirrell
6th May, 2019
Council Member Lon Needles
2nd May, 2019

Points of Contact

City Clerk, Sheri Pierce, MMC, 907-834-3408 or  

Deputy Clerk, Allie Ferko, CMC, 907-834-3468 or

Regular Meeting Schedule

7:00 p.m. - First and third Tuesday of each month    

Valdez City Council Chambers
212 Chenega St.
Valdez, AK 99686

City Council Agendas, Minutes & Audio Recordings

Click to view Council agenda packets, meeting summaries, approved minutes, and audio.

Agenda packets available prior to meetings and work sessions.

Meeting audio recordings and action summaries posted online following each meeting.

                 Meeting minutes available following formal Council approval.   
                      (Minutes not taken for work sessions.)