City Council

The City Council 

The elective officers of the city shall consist of the Mayor and six Council Members.

The Mayor and each Council Member shall be elected from the city at large. The term of office for each Council Member and Mayor shall be three years and shall commence on the next regular Council meeting following the election.

The Council shall exercise all of the legislative and policy-making powers of the city and shall provide for the performance of all duties and obligations imposed upon the city by law.

(Charter of the City of Valdez, Chapter 3 & Valdez Municipal Code, Chapter 2.06)

Current City Council Members

(Click on Name to View Each Council Member’s Photograph and Biography) 

Member NameTerm NumberTerm Expiration
Mayor Sharon Scheidt
sscheidt@valdezak.gov
2ndMay 2024



Mayor Pro Tempore Alan Sorum
asorum@valdezak.gov 
4thMay 2025



Council Member Todd Wegner
twegner@valdezak.gov
1stMay 2024



Council Member Dawson Moore
dmoore@valdezak.gov
2ndMay 2024



Council Member Susan Love
slove@valdezak.gov
1stMay 2023



Council Member Jimmy Devens
jdevens@valdezak.gov
1stMay 2023



Council Member Dennis Fleming
dfleming@valdezak.gov 
5thMay 2025




Points of Contact

City Clerk, Sheri Pierce, MMC, 907-834-3408 or spierce@valdezak.gov 

Deputy Clerk, Elise Sorum-Birk, 907-834-3468 or esorumbirk@valdezak.gov 

Regular Meeting Schedule

7:00 p.m. - First and third Tuesday of each month

Valdez City Council Chambers
212 Chenega Street
Valdez, AK 99686

City Council Agendas, Minutes & Video Recordings

Click to view Council agenda packets, meeting summaries, approved minutes, and audio.

Agenda packets available prior to meetings and work sessions.

Meeting video recordings and action summaries posted online following each meeting.

Meeting minutes available following formal Council approval. (Minutes not taken for work sessions.)

City Council Policies and Procedures

Click to view the City Council's Policies and Procedures document (last amended on 12.21.2021).

Current City Council Goals and Priorities Information