City Council

City of Valdez Mission  To cultivate an environment of opportunity, sustained prosperity, and well-b
2024 Budget Workshop Schedule
council 2023
Left to Right: Jimmy Devens, Todd Wegner, Austin Love, Olivia Foster, Sheri Pierce, Dennis Fleming, Sharon Sheidt, Alan Sorum. 

The City Council 

The elective officers of the city shall consist of the Mayor and six Council Members.

The Mayor and each Council Member shall be elected from the city at large. The term of office for each Council Member and Mayor shall be three years and shall commence on the next regular Council meeting following the election.

The Council shall exercise all of the legislative and policy-making powers of the city and shall provide for the performance of all duties and obligations imposed upon the city by law.

(Charter of the City of Valdez, Chapter 3 & Valdez Municipal Code, Chapter 2.06)

Current City Council Members

(Click on Name to View Each Council Member’s Photograph and Biography) 

Member NameTerm NumberTerm Expiration
Mayor Sharon Scheidt
Email Sharon Scheidt
2ndMay 2024

Mayor Pro Tempore Alan Sorum
Email Alan Sorum 
4thMay 2025

Council Member Dennis Fleming
Email Dennis Fleming
May 2025

Council Member Jimmy Devens
Email Jimmy Devens
2ndMay 2026

Council Member Todd Wegner
Email Todd Wegner
1stMay 2024

Council Member Olivia Foster
Email Olivia Foster
1st May 2024

Council Member Austin Love
Email Austin Love 
1stMay 2026

Points of Contact

City Clerk, Sheri Pierce, MMC, 907-834-3408 or email Sheri Pierce 

Deputy Clerk, Elise Sorum-Birk, 907-834-3468 or email Elise Sorum-Birk 

Regular Meeting Schedule

7:00 p.m. - First and third Tuesday of each month

Valdez City Council Chambers
212 Chenega Street
Valdez, AK 99686

City Council Agendas, Minutes & Video Recordings

View Council agenda packets, meeting summaries, approved minutes, and audio.

Agenda packets are available prior to meetings and work sessions.

Meeting video recordings and action summaries are posted online following each meeting.

Meeting minutes are available following formal Council approval. (Minutes not taken for work sessions.)

City Council Policies and Procedures

Council Policies and Procedures - Updated 10.17.23

Current City Council Goals and Priorities Information